NoMilk Home PageNo-Milk Mailing List Archives

The following file is from the CELIAC list archives:

Milk Substitutes: version 8

Copyright Michael Jones, Bill Elkus, Jim Lyles, Lisa Lewis 1995, 1996, 1997 - All rights reserved worldwide

Gluten-Free Milk Substitutes List:

Better Than Milk (Plain only)
DariFree (formerly Vegelicious), powder/liquid from Abersold Foods
EdenBlend (not EdenRice)
Ener-G NutQuik powder
Ener-G SoyQuik powder
Farm Rich
HAIN Rice Supreme Drink
Pacific Rice Beverage
Pacific Ultra
Solait, powder from Devansoy Farms
Sovex Rice Moo
SoyGood (soy based alternative)
Vance's DariFree (see DariFree)
Vanilla AlmondMylk (not Original)
Westbrae Rice Non Dairy Drink
Westsoy (Vanilla, Plain or Chocolate)
White Wave Dairyless Yogurt (not Organic Plain)

The following backup was mostly collected from the mailing list: Celiac/Coeliac Wheat/Gluten-free List
Better Than Milk?

From: Amy Lester
Date: 15 May 1996

A few recent posts have inspired me to actually write back, singing the praises of a product called: Better Than Milk?, subtitled a "Dairy Free Tofu Beverage Mix." But don't let that scarry subtitle stop you, it wins the taste test with me hands down.

It comes in a canister, much like some of the other milk alternatives. On the can itself it says that the product is caseinate free, cholesterol free, has natural B12, is lactose-free, is rich in calcium (50% of the RDA in one serving), and is gluten-free.

It isn't sickeningly sweet like the rice drinks, or too funky like the soy beverages in boxes. It's pretty much just right, as far as taste and color go. However, tastes tend to be quite subjective, so I suppose if my post has piqued your interest at all, you'll fork over the $9.50 for 32 servings and see for yourself.

It's distributed by Sovex Natural Foods, Inc.; Box 2178; Collegedale, TN 37315

The ingredients are: Malodextrin (from rice), soy milk, calcium carbonate, soy protein isolate, fructose, tofu powder, sea salt, titanium dioxide (a mineral for color), potassium chloride, carrageenan gum, natural flavors, soy lecithin, cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B-12).

From: Casey Braddock
Date: 17 Oct 1996

This is a response to a request for information or a telephone number for Sovex Natural Foods. The number is 423-396-3145.

I called and talked to Joyce Estey in customer service. She stated that all of their 'Better Than Milk' products are gluten free.

From: Don Wiss
Date: 12 Mar 1997

Not all variants are dairy-free as the vanilla and other flavors have sodium caseinate in them. Only the plain is dairy-free. The ingredient list above is for the plain.

Also there is an 800 number for Sovex. It is 800-227-2320.
(Vance's) DariFree (new name for Vegilicious, also in liquid)

From: Kirsten Klinghammer
Date: 16 Sep 1995

My favorite by far and out it Vegelicious. This non-dairy powder is made by Abersold Foods, 2730 Morley Way, Sacramento, California 95864. Their phone number is (916) 972-9142. I have found it available in good health food stores. It is quite expensive when bought in small packets, but a 5 lb. package (which they say yields 6.4 gallons when mixed with water, although you can adjust the proportions) costs "only" $30.

The taste is wonderful, and makes particularly good hot chocolate when mixed with a good cocoa. It also mixes well with the taste of dairy, for those who can have dairy too. I like to use it as the liquid in Bette Hagman's Rice Ricotta Pancakes.

From: Lisa S Lewis
Date: 16 Sep 1995

>Does anyone know a substitution for dry milk in baking that is non-milk,
>non-soy and non-almond?

Vegelicious should work. I have made bread in my machine subsituting this powder for the dry milk and the bread was delicious and had a nice texture.

Ingredients: Malto-dextrin (from potatoes), cereal solids (from potatoes), high oleic sunflower oil, cereal solids (from corn), dehydrated honey, di-calcium phosphate, calicum carbonate, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavors (no msg, no gluten), sea salt, titanium dioxide (a natural inert mineral), carrageenan, potassium citrate, citric acid, mono and diglycerides, lecithin.

The ads for it say free of soy.

From: Don Wiss
Date: 13 Nov 1995

I called them at 800-275-1437 for an update. It is still soy-free.

However, there are several changes taking place. (1) the name is changing to Vance's DariFree, (2) a liquid version is also coming out, (3) a chocolate version is also coming out, (3) DariFree is fat-free (the sunflower oil was removed), and (4) the powder will only be available in regular. These changes have already taken place in Arizona and Southern California. They will be rolled out to the rest of the country during 1996.

From: Karyn S. Friedman
Date: 19 May 1996

I thought I'd mention our favorite dairy substitute. My son is highly allergic, and this product contains no gluten, soy, or rice.

DariFree is a potato-based GF milk substitute. It's completely hypoallergenic and contains as much calcium as milk. The flavor is milder and more pleasant than soy or rice milk, in my opinion. Not something I personally drink by itself, but nice in cereal or blender shakes. My son drinks it like it's ambrosia, but he liked some cookies I once made that tasted like cabbage...

You can order it by phone from Abersold Foods: 1-800-497-4834 It's 29.95 for a 5-lb jar of powder - makes 23 qts. ($1.30/qt.)

We're very happy with the fact that James tolerates it. I'm lactose intolerant and I do like it on my breakfast cereal and for cooking.
EdenBlend (not EdenRice)

From: Jim Lyles
Date: 24 Aug 1995

Eden Foods provides two beverages: EdenRice and EdenBlend. I quote the following from a letter we received from Eden Foods on June 24, 1995: "Special note: the rice syrup in EdenRice is processed with barley enzymes, but it is washed afterward." They list it as GF, but I would not trust it.

However, the other product, EdenBlend, is not processed with barley enzymes and is on their GF list; so it should be safe for celiacs. Their GF list is preceded by this statement: "To the best of our knowledge, the following Eden products contain no form of wheat or gluten as an ingredient or in their processing and packaging:" I find the fact that they looked beyond just the ingredient list rather reassuring. (On the other hand, the letter was not signed by anyone. Oh, well...)

Contact info: Eden Foods

From: Mary Courtney
Date: 15 Sep 1995

The label reads: EDENBLEND Rice & Soy Beverage. The ingredients are: Purified Water, Organic Brown Rice, Organic Soybeans, Kombu (Seaweed), Carrageenan, Lima Sea Salt, Calcium Carbonate.

The blend of rice and soy tasted better than regular soy milk. It was less beany and there was little or no grainy texture to the liquid.

From: Kirsten Klinghammer
Date: 15 Sep 1995

I also recently discovered this product, and I also like the fact that it's unsweetened, unlike every soy milk and rice milk that I've found. Tasty stuff.
Ener-G NutQuik powder

From: Michael Jones
Date: 9 Feb 1996

NutQuik is ground almonds from Ener-G Foods of Seattle, (800) 331-5222. It is an excellent dry milk replacement for baked goods when you must avoid lactose or soy. It can be made into a liquid milk, but I have not tried it.

From: Jane Ehrenfeld
Date: 12 Feb 1996

NutQuik is made by Ener-G Foods in Seattle and is available by mail order and can often be found in health food stores. My local h.f. store will special order almost anything for me (the exception being if neither of their distributors carry what I am looking for). It is made from almonds and guar gum, and when I purchased it I was surprised at the size of the nut pieces. You really have to work to make this stuff.
Ener-G SoyQuik powder

Can order from 800-331-5222
Farm Rich

From: Virginia Mingolla
Date: 23 Aug 1995

I have been using Farm Rich for many years. It comes in Reg.,Light and Fat Free. I prefer the Light or Fat Free. Their telephone number is 1-800-356-7094 for more information.

I buy it in Pathmark or Shop-Rite in New Jersey.

Farm Rich Ingredients: Water, Corn Syrup, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or Less of the following: Soy Protein Isolate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Emulsifiers (Mono and Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Polysorbate 60), Salt, Vegetable Gum (Carrageenan), Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Artificial Flavor, Beta Carotene (for Coloring).

Spoke with a representative at Rich Products Corporation about their Farm Rich product. I was assured that the milk substitute is gluten free. The vegetable gum which is carrageenan is derived from sea weed plants and does not have any MSG in it. The Mono and Diglycerides come from the fat of the soybean.

I have used this product for many years and have been able to substitute it in any recipe that calls for milk. I do not drink it as I would a glass of milk only because I really don't know how healthy all of the soy products are. But it works for me in coffee, cereal, etc.

From: Don Wiss
Date: 13 Nov 1995

I called them to find out their area of distribution. It is only available in the Eastern half of the country.
HAIN Rice Supreme Drink

From: James Cafiero
Date: 14 May 1997

Got a call today from Bob Riley of the HAIN Food Group.

His technical people tell him that HAIN Rice Supreme (non-dairy vitamin A & D enriched rice/soy drink) is GF and is therefore safe for celiacs. "Wheat, rye, oats and barley and derivatives are not used in the manufacture of the product nor are they ingredients".
Pacific Ultra

From: Todd Moody
Date: 4 Jan 1996 16:12:19 -0500

Since many casein-free milk-like beverages, such as Rice Dream, have gluten hidden in the brown rice syrup used as a sweetener, I am pleased to announce another product that is gluten-free. Pacific Ultra Non-Dairy Beverage, from Pacific Foods in Tualatin, Oregon, is gluten-free according to a spokesperson in their lab.

The nice thing about Pacific Ultra is that it has calcium (30% USRDA), vitamin D (30% USRDA), riboflavin (30% USRDA), vitamin A (10% USRDA), and iron (15% USRDA) added. It also contains lactobacillus acidophilus and L. bifidus in unspecified amounts.

It tastes okay to me, and Dylan drinks it plain or with Nestles chocolate. He also uses it on his GF cereals.
Pacific Rice Beverage

From: Todd Moody
Date: 19 Jan 1996

Pacific also makes a Pacific Rice beverage, which is also gluten-free. It is not as high in calcium and protein as the soy-based Ultra drink, but it is pretty good tasting (comparable to Rice Dream) and has L. acidophilus in it.
Rice Dream - **Not gluten-free**

From: William Elkus
Date: 14 Nov 1994

I just got off the phone with David Nickerson, Consumer Affairs Manager, Imagine Foods (415) 327-1444.

David confirmed to me that _all_ flavors of Rice Dream use barley enzymes in the preparation of the rice. I had been warned of this fact by California Natural Products, which ... uses these barley enzymes for making [Rice Dream's] rice syrups. California Natural Products told me that although they do their best to wash out all the barley, there is the potential for gluten residue and they cannot certify their product as gluten free.

David said that many Celiacs report using Rice Dream without having a problem. Each person must make their own decision about this issue. Some Celiac support groups warn that there is no established minimum level of gluten ingestion without damage.....

In addition, David confirmed that the vanilla used in Vanilla Rice Dream is prepared from grain alcohol. Many celiac groups warn that products prepared with grain alcohol can also contribute a gluten residue to the end-product (unless it is 100% corn alcohol)...[others disagree with this]

David said that his company is aware of the gluten residue issue but feels at this time that the flavor of the product would be compromised by using other methods of preparation.

Cheryl Mitchell, California Natural Products, (209) 858-2525.

From: Gary Roberts
Date: 16 Nov 1995

The following quote is from a letter from Jeannette Toneros, Consumer Relations Manager of Imagine Foods, manufacturers of Rice Dream...

"...Our patented enzymatic process utilizes enzymes, which are grown on various grains including barley, to convert the complex carbohydrates in brown rice to naturally occurring sugars...the actual grains used to grow the enzymes are discarded after the enzymes are extracted...The barley protein in the final Rice Dream product, if present at all, would occur in microscopic parts per million amounts. In addition, the enzymes are essentially used up in the process...It is therefore highly unlikely, but still possible, that gluten may exist in minute amounts in the final product."

From: Bill Elkus
Date: 8 Feb 1996

I received a return call today from Jeannete Toneros at Imagine Foods, the producer of Rice Dream (phone 415-327-1444). Back in November 1994, I posted to our List that Rice Dream used barley enzymes, and I wanted to get an update on their product.

Imagine Food purchases the component which uses barley from California Natural Products. According to Jeannette, CNP has been unsuccessful in its attempts to find a suitable non-barley source for these particular enzymes. Jeannette maintains that the amount of gluten remaining in Rice Dream is in the "parts per million", but they have no lab assay to back up their statement.

I then spoke with Joe Hall at CNP. He appeared quite willing to help Imagine quantify the maximum possible gluten content in Rice Dream, and promised to fax his calculations as soon as they are available.

I also recommended that Imagine and/or CNP get their product tested at a commercial lab so that Celiacs can get more definitive information about its gluten content. Both promised to look into this. If any of you know of an appropriate laboratory in America, please write to me privately.

Don Kasarda posted a note back on November 19, 1995 that:

>...To the best of my knowledge, the smallest amount that
>has been tested with patients and shown (biopsies taken)
>to have a definite effect is 0.1 gram per day (Catassi et al.)
> <rest deleted, see archive for further details>

A quart of Rice Dream should weigh about 1 kilogram (at least a liter of water does!). If Rice Dream had 100 parts per million of gluten, then a quart would contain 0.1 gram of gluten (if my calculations are correct) and should be of concern to most Celiacs. On the other hand, if Rice Dream had 1 part per million of gluten, it would appear to be acceptable to many more people. Therefore, it will be important to see the results of CNP's analysis. Naturally, I will report these back to the List. Stay tuned.

Bill Elkus
Los Angeles

P.S. In my prior phone call with Imagine, they also told me that they could not guarantee that the vanilla flavoring (found in some Rice Dream flavors) did not use a grain alcohol base. Some (but not all) celiac support groups recommend avoiding products with this attribute....that is another controversial topic. I did not check again on this particular point in my calls today.

From: Bill Elkus
Date: 15 Feb 1996

Joe Hall, Technical Sales Manager at California Natural Products (209) 858-2525 x224, in cooperation with Imagine Foods, has completed the analysis of Rice Dream mentioned in prior posts on our Celiac List. CNP makes the rice protein used by Imagine Foods in their Rice Dream products. He sent us the following fax:

"For the purpose of this calculation, a conservative approach was taken. If we are inaccurate, it should be on the side of overstating the extent of the problem. All protein from barley, regardless of solubility, molecular weight, or the fact that the protein is denatured during processing was assumed to be "bad" protein.

"Summary of Calculations:

Rice Dream Beverages: Under 5 mg protein per 240 ml serving; under 15 mg barley protein per quart.

Rice Dream Puddings: Under 10 mg barley protein per individual serving. As of 2/15/96 it is anticipated that there will be zero barley protein on all product made after April 1996.

Rice Dream Frozen Dessert. Under 15 mg barley protein per quart at present. As of 2/1/596 it is anticipated that there will be zero barley protein on all product made after May 1996."

Of course, the natural question is "Is 10 or 15 mg of barley protein enough to harm a Celiac ?" A major unknown is what percentage of the barley protein in Rice Dream is "bad" for celiacs. I recall that about 80% of the wheat protein in bread is gluten, but the barley protein in Rice Dream may be proportionately far less harmful due to the processing involved.

Even if the percentage of "bad" barley protein in the 10-15 mg of barley protein was known, there is no definitive answer to the question of how much can be tolerated per day. There is currently an active discussion on cel-pro (the discussion group for professionals in the celiac field) on this exact topic, and the listowners will post a summary of their discussion in a few weeks.

Previous posts to this list by Don Kasarda have cited a study where 15 mg of gluten per day _did not_ cause observable damage via biopsy, and another study where 100 mg gluten per day _did_ cause discernible intestinal changes in celiacs. Each study had its own limitations and cannot be relied upon as the definitive answer. Also, it is inherently difficult to prove that "no damage" is caused, since one would have to look at every single system of the body, not just the gut lining.

So.... we are each going to have to make our own decision as to whether or not to include Rice Dream products in our diet. At least after May, it appears the desserts will be OK. And for the beverage, at least we have an upper boundary on the amount of barley to assist us in our decision.

From: Bill Elkus
Date: Fri, 2 May 1997 15:54:46 EDT

Yesterday I posted a long email about the gluten issues in Rice Dream, and I copied Lori Dunn, the Customer Service Manager at Imagine Foods. She sent me another email this morning to clarify a few points. Sorry to complicate things, but there are actually 3 gluten issues for Rice Dream:

(1) Barley enzymes used in processing the rice. This was covered in yesterday's post. It is still a problem for Rice Dream beverage, but not a problem for the puddings and frozen desserts.

(2) Grain alcohol used in the natural flavoring. This was also covered in yesterday's post. For those who deem grain alcohol off-limits, this is an issue with most puddings and frozen desserts. Check the label - if it says "natural flavors", this issue exists.

(3) Some of the flavors of the puddings and frozen desserts use barley malt as a product ingredient, particularly chocolate and carob candy. Check the label for "malt".
Solait, powder from Devansoy Farms

From: Will Estes
Date: 23 Aug 1995

I have been using a soy powder from Devansoy Farms named Solait. They have a plain and a vanilla, and I much prefer the plain. Unlike most soy milk products, whose taste I find nearly repulsive, Solait's taste is really quite good. It is sweetened with rice syrup.

I have called Devansoy to ask whether Solait is gluten free. They claim it is. I challenged them on the rice syrup, and I asked them to verify that it did not contain barley enzymes. They claim it does not. But on a somewhat negative note, they refused to divulge the name of the company that they use for their rice syrup, so I am not able to independently confirm that their rice syrup is clean. So far I seem to digest it very well, and I have been using it as a milk substitute in all recipes.

Devansoy Farms can be reached at 800-747-8605. If anyone else can help me confirm that the product really is gluten-free, I would appreciate it.
Sovex Rice Moo

From: C. Burgess
Date: 27 Jun 1997

Sovex brand of Rice Moo is a gluten free and soy free milk alternative. I wrote to the Sovex Foods company directly (P.O. Box 2178, Collegedale, TN 37315-2178) and received this reply:

"I am pleased to provide you with the information you requested. The Rice Moo Beverage Mix is a great tasting beverage that is cholesterol free and fat free. It is completely animal free with no soy derivatives. Rice Moo is also gluten free... If I may be of further assistance, you may call me at 1-800-227-2320, ext. 120, Shirley King, Consumer Affairs Representative"
SoyGood (soy based alternative)

From: Bridget Brewer
Date: 21 Apr 1997

Just wanted to let you all know, I did contact the BestLife Company Int. regarding their product called SoyGood (soy based alternative) If you are not soy intolerant than this is a casein/gluten/and wheat free product. It lists mono and diglycerides as an ingredient, and they confirmed that this came from the soybean, not wheat or corn. This is pretty ecomomical, and you can get it mail order. It cost about 10.00 for a container to make 4 gallons. My son does not know the difference between this product and regular milk! I will list the ingredients below for you. If you are interested their number is 1-800-407-7238 (located in Caldwell, Idaho). To confirm ingredient listings, talk to Paul.

Dextrose, Tofu, Partially Hydrogenated Soy Bean Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Corn Syrup Solids, Magnesium Chelate, Natural Flavors (pure vanilla from bean), salt, soy lechithin, Carrageenan, silicon dioxide, mono and diglycerides (from soybeans-the fat of the bean), Ferric othophosphate, vitamin D3, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin b12, Vitamin E, Riboflavin, Thiamin Hydochloride, Niacin B3, Vitamin B6, Pantothenic Acid, Boitin, Folic Acid, Trace Mineral Pack.
Vanilla AlmondMylk (not Original)

From: Jim Lyles
Date: 24 Aug 1995

Wholesome & Hearty Foods, Inc., makes a product called "AlmondMylk". According to a letter from them, dated May 19, 1995, there are two flavors: Original and Vanilla. The original flavor contains barley malt and is NOT GF. However, the Vanilla flavor is gluten-free and therefore safe for celiacs.

To quote the letter: "...I have researched the points of concern such as wheat or wheat like ingredients, grain alcohol vanilla, and barley enzymes used in processing. I have been assured that there are no products that would be suspicious for the Celiac person....try our product AlmondMylk, Vanilla. This flavored non soy and non dairy beverage made from almonds is a refreshing and satisfying milk substitute..."

The letter is signed by Frank Card D.C.-N.D., National Sales Manager.

From: William Elkus
Date: 19 May 1995

Dr. Frank Card, their food scientist was very knowledgeable and confirmed that the brown rice syrup is not made with barley enzymes (many are), and that their natural vanilla does not have a grain alcohol base. It is packaged in a juice box, and he said that this requires extremely careful processing to avoid bacterial contamination. Due to this procedure he is confident there will be no cross-contamination with the Original flavor.

From: Roy Armour - IC
Date: 24 Aug 1995

This is the ingredients list for Vanilla AlmondMylk: Oregon mountain water, Brown rice syrup, Almonds, Natural vanilla, Lecithin, Sodium citrate, Sea salt, Ginger, Carrageenan
Westbrae Rice Non Dairy Drink

Date: 18 Dec 1995

Rice Non Dairy Drink by "Westbrae Natural Foods" - #310-886-8200 ext 124 - does not bother my daughter or myself. I have to admit I have not called to verify the rice syrup. (one serving of "Rice Dream" and we have a reaction)

Date: 30 Dec 1996

We have received - Oct.. 96 - that Westbrea Non Dairy Rice Drink - is gluten free. We have been using it for 3 years now - the latest letter updating the previous GF status. We usually purchase it in the concentrate form - adding water to make two quarts. There are flavors - I like it plain the best - my daughter adds: Hershey's syrup, GF vanilla, or maple syrup to make her own flavors - it's great in shakes too - we make "orange julious?" and other fruit/milk drinks..... with a bit of guar/xantham gum you have a thick shake.

Date: 3 Jan 1997

Westbrea Natural - Rice Non Dairy Drink - Concentrate (my favorite, they also have ready to serve), with Vitamins A, D, & Calcium. Distributed by Westbrea Natural Foods, Carson, CA 90746 USA (Sub. of Vestro Foods) Questions or comments? Call (310) 886-8200, ext: 124

When we make our shakes in the blender we use All kinds of juices.... I try to use the ones that are not full of corn syrup..... Fresh fruit (the bananas that are beginning to turn that the kids won't eat!!) .... fresh strawberries, rasberries, mixed frozen fruit (BE CAREFUL!! some are dusted with cellulose fibers!! UGH!! then we add the milk - try the juices in the concentrate form - and I only put 1/8 teas. of guar/xantham gum in at a time.... remember both of these get thicker with friction!! let it go in the blender for a while before you add more!! sorry my recipes don't get written down ... it tends to be what I find available!!!
Westsoy Vanilla, Plain or Chocolate

From: Mary Courtney
Date: 7 Nov 1995

On a car trip packing list Mary included GF soy milk (Westsoy Lite)
White Wave Dairyless Yogurt

Jeannie (303) 443-3470
White Wave, Inc., 1990 N. 57th Street, Boulder, CO 80301.

From: Gary Roberts
Date: 20 Nov 1995

We heard from Jeannie from White Wave today. She said that, except for the Organic Plain Dairyless Yogurt, all of the White Wave Dairyless Yogurts are gluten free. They do not contain any barley or barley enzymes in the rice syrup. She said that the Organic Plain Dairyless Yogurt flavor has minute quantities as it is made with barley enzymes. She did not know how minute the quantity was.

Permission is granted to copy these files, at no charge and in entirety, provided that the copies are not used for commercial advantage, that the source is cited and that the present copyright notice is included in all copies, so that the recipients of such copies are equally bound to abide by the present conditions. Prior written permission is required for any commercial use of the LISTSERV files, in whole or in part, and for any partial reproduction of the contents of these files exceeding 50 lines of up to 80 characters, or equivalent. The title page, table of contents and index, if any, are not considered to be part of the document for the purposes of this copyright notice, and can be freely removed if present.

The purpose of this copyright is to protect your right to make free copies of this paper for your friends and colleagues, to prevent publishers from using it for commercial advantage, and to prevent ill-meaning people from altering the meaning of the document by changing or removing a few paragraphs.


The CELIAC list has been designed to be a general information resource. However, it is not intended for use in diagnosis, treatment, or any other medical application. Questions should be directed to your personal physician. This information is not warranted and no liability is assumed by the author or any group for the recommendations, information, dietary suggestions, menus, and recipes promulgated. Based upon accepted practices in supplying the source documents, this fact sheet is accurate and complete. Products mentioned or omitted do not constitute endorsement.